Makes you feel better or worse?


I was at the grocery store when a Dad I know walked up to me and asked “Hey, are you doing okay?” I replied, “I am fine. Why? Do I not look okay ?” I asked him. He said, “Your son told my son (they are classmates) that you guys are splitting up. If you need anything, we are here for you.” I was plunged into a sea of emotions ranging from shock to sadness to embarrassment . I mumbled, “Yes, thank you,” and walked away.

A few days later, a mom (that I had said hello to twice) approached me at my son’s school. “I heard about your marriage. If you need anything, we are here for you,” she said. Now this particular morning had been very difficult for me. The fact that I had no job and pretty much no life had hit me very hard that morning when  I woke up. So, when she said this to me, I broke down – literally. The nice mom gave me a hug. I couldn’t stop crying. The flood gates had been opened. I nodded my head and walked away.

I sat in my car to gather myself. As I tried to compose myself, I realized that all these people did not make me feel better.

I mean- think about it. Would you reach out to an acquaintance for emotional support?

All it does is remind you of the scrappy, miserable situation you are in.

Leave a Reply

