My safe haven


As I struggle to understand why I was fired from my job and start the search for new jobs, I can feel the depression seeping in, the sadness creeping in.

I try my best to keep them at bay as I put on a brave front and try to get through the day.

But they are my lovers, my companions, my soulmates.

They want to wrap me up in their arms where I am cocooned, where I stay safe, secure.

I don`t want to leave this warm, cozy, dark place. The heavy blanket around me numbs me, keeps me from facing reality.

Let the days go by. Why try? Stay here, they seduce me.

Maybe for now, I’ll stay. The world and its problems can wait.

6 thoughts on “My safe haven

Leave a Reply

