My children are human!!


I am not GOD.

I don’t believe I have the right to tell my children how to behave all the time, how to study, what they should choose for a career.

I have come under a lot of cultural and family pressure to raise my children a certain way – timeouts, take away privileges, insist they get A’s all the time, and only choose academic extracurricular activities.

I am not PERFECT! I never was and never will be. What right do I have then to expect my children to be perfect?

Don’t get me wrong. I do have certain expectations and rules:

1) Don’t lie to me EVER – tell me if you got a bad grade, if you got in trouble or you made a mistake.

2) Be kind most of the time. This probably is something I should learn from them.

3) Be a productive member of society – as in be financially independent and live within your means.

4) And finally, make a difference. I tell my kids they are very blessed and privileged to lead comfortable lives – no war, no poverty, no hunger. So they should donate a portion of their time, money and effort to some cause.

Yes, I have been called a hippy, tree hugger and many other things. And that is okay.

This is my response. My children are happy. They adjust and adapt well to changing situations and get along with different personalities. Maybe they won’t make it to an Ivy League school and become a doctor or lawyer or an engineer. Then again, they might. I don’t know.

But I do know this. My children are learning to be human. And that’s all that matters to me!

Leave a Reply

