On writing


I think I would like to call myself an expert on how to write a query letter, especially considering how many articles I have read on how to write these letters. The more I read, the more I am confused. Now I am not sure – is it my query letter that is responsible for the rejections? Or the first chapter? Should I rewrite the query letter or the first chapter or both?

And how many times should I start fresh? When do I say stop? No more – that’s it – I am done. I am not publishable.

Some days the motivation to write just is not there. It feels like a curse. Then the next day, I am back at it. I can’t stop writing. But I don’t want to write. I love it. I hate it. I breathe it even though it is toxic like a drug. I fight it and I give in. I throw it away and come back begging for forgiveness.

At the end of the day, I need it. It defines me. How then can I not embrace it?

Leave a Reply

