Friendship


Recently, a friend of mine got kittens for her children. I was very impressed at how methodical and organized she was in doing this. She did her research, checked out different shelters and after many hours of effort finally chose the two kittens. I was amazed at her energy, her dedication and inwardly baulked at the effort needed. I also realized that we are two dissimilar persons. She is organized. I am not. She is energetic. I am not. She is efficient. I am not. She is not lazy and is very clear on how to raise her children. She is very disciplined.
I wonder then how we are friends- with opposing outlooks and personalities. Is it possible to like someone purely because you just ‘like’ them? Not because they represent this or that?
Or do I like this friend because I think she represents what I feel I am not?

Leave a Reply

