Break free


I stand on the edge

Looking longingly

The chain is loose

The chain is invisible

It is of my own making

All I have to do

Is take the leap

I can smell it

I can feel it

This is what it feels like

To be free

To be what you can be

I take another step closer

And….. I can’t

I can feel the chain

The one I made myself

Pulling me back

Tightening around my ankle

And the mind

It is tired

It sighs in submission

I look out and up

Longing, desiring, wanting

But not enough

Not enough to break the chain

Maybe another day

The heart consoles itself

Maybe another day

You will find

The strength to break free

Until then

Carry on

You have no choice

One day

It can happen

Leave a Reply

