I don’t want to be normal


A misfit I am

Why, I wonder

Do I have to be a square?

Can I be formless?

Don’t question you say

Take it as it is

How can I?

My soul rebels

Can’t I just be?

No, you cannot you say

Follow tradition

Follow culture

No matter you don’t understand

Make the sacrifice

Like so many others did

What if I can’t?

Have no choice

This is what it is

Accept and give it up

This is normalcy

This is belonging

And I run gasping for air

Feel imprisoned, trapped

But can’t break the chains

Upbringing, tradition, culture

Why do I question?

Why can’t I accept?

Why can’t I be normal?

Leave a Reply

